To order, call:
(302) 764-6759

Reviews
Reviews

Customer Comments

“We had a debrief meeting yesterday to review the entire weekend and everybody was very pleased with not only the quality of food but your service team as well. You guys are awesome! We even threw you some last-minute curve balls with this one (I’m still apologizing about the rental mix up) and you acted like it didn’t even phase you. We had record attendance this year, and it was a success all around! Kudos to you and Dee. Can’t wait to work with you guys again. Thanks for pulling off a great event, yet again!”
Ainsley Hertrich, Archmere Academy, October 2016

“Dee, Thank you for your excellent service. The food arrived on time, at the correct temperature and we received dozens of complements on it. You really helped make our special day a success.”
Suzanne Long, October 2016

“I have used Food for Thought Catering for several events (breakfast, lunch) over the past 3 years and have never been disappointed. The food in always prepared delicious, fruits, bread/pastries always fresh, more than enough to eat and everything you order is there and on time, but most of all, I appreciate their attentiveness and professionalism. I recommend Food for Thought Catering and give them a 5 star rating.”
Angela Walker Harris, Office of the County Executive, October 2016

“Thank you for contributing to the joyous memories we will have of my wife’s party. The food was delicious, plentiful, and nicely presented. Your staff was professional all the way.
It was a true pleasure to work with you and your company. All the best.”
Howard Cove, August 2016

“The food was fantastic and service was excellent as usual. Thanks again for a great event; we’ll be in touch soon.”
Jodi Martino, Capital One, September 2016
“Thank you Dee! The food was fantastic – lots of compliments!”
Adrienne, May 2016

“Attended Minquadale Fire Co banquet last night and oh my gosh the food was out of this world. Thank you. Looking forward to working with you. I am the president of the New Castle County Ladies Auxiliary and oversee 19 New Castle County Fire Company Ladies Auxiliaries. I will definitely be spreading the word.
Mary Alice Maichle, January 2016

“Hi Ben, just wanted to thank you and also let you know how great the food was for my baby shower on Saturday….everyone thought the food was delicious and especially liked the sausage and the salad. Glad I went for your signature dishes. You were so easy to work with and I really appreciated your input.”
Paula, March 2016

“Hi Ben, I just wanted to say Thank You for preparing the delicious food for today. The event was a success! Everyone enjoyed themselves and the food. I received many compliments.”
Diane, May 2016

“Dee, Thanks again for accommodating us so quickly. Food was delicious and was set up very quickly and nicely – we were all very impressed!!”
Doug, May 2016

“Thanks, Dee. The vegetable lasagna was WONDERFUL.”
Marykay, April 2016

“Everything was great today, as always!! Thanks so much!!”
Kelly, April 2016

“Thanks Dee! Lunch was just awesome and enjoyed by all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Lynn, April 2016

“The food was delicious and perfect! Very professionally presented.”
Linda, April 2016

“Your boxed lunches were delicious. We received many compliments. Thank you for your timely delivery and accuracy.”
Karen Hough, April 2016

“Please also pass along a thank you to Ben for preparing such wonderful meals, nothing but compliments from the attorneys on how good the food was.”
Linda

“I wanted to tell you everyone enjoyed lunch and some really raved. I was able to have a taste and I thought it was delicious. Jason was very courteous and professional.”
Karleen, April 2016

“Just wanted to send a THANK YOU to you all !!! The catering FOOD FOR THOUGHT provided on Saturday for our bridal shower was excellent ! The food was as beautiful as it was delicious. It made the day perfect! Also, your guidance in the menu selection was the key to everything…it was amazing and I cannot say enough.”
Yvonne, April 2016

“Just want to let you know that the salad was a HUGE hit!!! Not a lettuce leaf or pear slice left!”
Bob, February 2016

“I want you to know that we were VERY pleased with everything last night from start to finish. From the food quality and quantity, exceptional service, and especially your accommodation to our complete menu change with such short notice. We very much appreciate your service and plan to reach out for future events. Thank you again and have a great holiday!”
Ainsley, December 2015

“Today’s main topic of conversation: “That was the best chicken I’ve ever had!” It was AMAZING!”
Jamee, December 2015

“Everything was terrific. I was very pleased and the guys loved it,
especially your wonderful pear salad. I will pass the word along about the great food and service. You went out of your way to get this done and I appreciate it.
Merry Christmas Ben.”
Barbara, December 2015

“Hi, Ben! The food was AWESOME!!! Everyone loved it – thank you so very much! You guys made me look really good! We are very happy. And we would appreciate if you will please put us down for a Christmas Eve delivery, too.”
Tracey, November 2015

“I have to tell you that the food was amazing. The guests raved over everything! The food arrived on time and the setup was quick and professional! The food made the party! We are trying to think up a reason for a party so you can cater again. :-)”
Cheryl, July 2015

“A note of thanks to ALL involved at Food For Thought. The party on Saturday was a great success and the food was enjoyed and complimented on by so many. The food, the service from your company and just everything was 1st class. You run an amazingly professional catering business with amazing service. Well done to everyone. It is SO appreciated. Please thank ALL your staff. Thank You .Thank You .Thank You.”
Patricia, July 2015

“Ben & Dee, thank you so much for our catering today! Your delivery gentleman was so kind and apologetic – it wasn’t his fault he was late – apparently, the elevator in the building was put out of service for a period of time. He had no way of knowing that. Our meeting progressed fine with no problem, and the delivery set up did not pose a problem at all. Thank you again – you guys are also super professional and everyone always loves your food!”Have a great day!
Katie, July 2015

“You have outdone yourself!
The lunch is FABULOUS! Board Members are thrilled with the selection. Kudos.
Thank you!!”
Lisa, July 2015

“The lasagnas and salad were great! Thanks to the delivery person who set up the food! He was exceptionally helpful and demonstrated great customer service.”
Carol, June 2015

“The food was wonderful. We will be back again. Thank you so much.”
Karen, June 2015

“I just wanted to let you know how fantastic the food was! I was worried because we had never used your company before, but we will definitely be using you guys in the future. So many people kept asking us who catered it and kept saying how amazing the food was. Whomever I spoke with on the phone suggested the Molasses baked beans and the pulled pork to add to my order and it was spot on! Everyone raved about how good the beans were, the pork, and the BBQ chicken. Everything was good, we were not disappointed. Thanks so much for your help in making my mom’s 50th birthday great! Can’t wait to have another party so we can have some of your amazing food again!”
Nicole, May 2015

“The food was a huge success. Everyone loved it and I am sure you will be getting more business from us soon. Thanks so much for helping make our event a huge success.”
Debbie, May 2015

“The gentleman who set up all 3 lunches yesterday was extremely professional and did a great job on all 3 setups! Please pass on our thanks for a job well done! The food for our executive visit was very well received and there wasn’t much left, so they must have really liked it. I brought some salmon home, which I had for dinner last night, and it was excellent. Please pass on my thanks to everyone for the great food! Thanks again for everything!”
Susan, April 2015

“Hi Ben!  I just wanted to send you a note letting you know that everything was delicious yesterday. Thank you. We’ll be in touch with another job for you soon!”
Dana, March 2015

“I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful breakfast that you provided this morning for us…! Jeff was right on time and set everything up perfectly! The food was delicious. Everyone enjoyed the breakfast, and it is tough to please 27 women!!! Thank you again.
Joan, March 2015

“I wanted to thank you for the excellent customer service and amazing food!  All of our guests raved about how delicious everything was. Thank you for making everything so simple and enabling me to relax and enjoy breakfast with my family and friends.”
Adrienne, January 2015

“Thanks again for last night – it was awesome.  Lots of positive feedback on the food. Everything looked and tasted great. There’s a new leader in the clubhouse: beef rolls.”
John, January 2015

“The dinner went well….it was perfect. Great job as always.
Thanks for making my job easier.”
Lin, January 2015

“Thank you so much for your service. The food was awesome — it made a great impression on our visitors. (No one initially believed me when I told them that the pasta primavera was gluten free!). Thanks, again!”
Crystal, January 2015

“Everything was just great today! Also compliments on the nice delivery person. She was so pleasant and helpful!”
Cynthia, January 2015

“I had to do nothing except sit down and eat! Your food got rave reviews, and we decided that we will be ordering more often in 2015!!”
Tracey, December 2014

“Just wanted to let you know that we got the following feedback from the
lunch you delivered yesterday. Thanks for everything!

‘Thank you so much for the Holiday Meal. It was probably the best meal that
was ever given to us on the Midnight Shift….. The presentation was
outstanding and the food was fresh and crisp. Every staff member was
talking about how great everything was. Very impressed with the quality of
food and supplies that were offered to us. Thank you so much again from the… Midnight Shift.’

Happy Holidays.”
Denise, December 2014

“Ben, I can’t thank you enough. Everything was GREAT!!!! There were a couple of people asking for your number and location. Have a good holiday.”
Bob, December 2014

“The reunion was a HUGE success. Everyone showed up; the church was packed; and the meal was fabulous!!! People had a great time. And they loved all the food. We had plenty; even enough to take leftovers to Sojourners. They were very excited to have the food for Sunday dinner.
Thanks for everything, Ben. We will be recommending you all over New Castle County. If I don’t talk to you, have a wonderful Christmas holiday and a prosperous New Year.”
Mary, November 2014

Hi Ben,
Let me start by saying how wonderful lunch was today. Everything was delicious as usual! I just need to tell you how impressed I am with your staff considering the obstacle they were faced with today. Things are unpredictable, I don’t have to tell you that! The way you and your staff handled the situation was really above and beyond.
First and foremost, I’m happy everyone was ok and not hurt. Secondly, for them to consider the presentation of our food was just a complete WOW. Thirdly, the gentleman who delivered the food was apologetic, which I wouldn’t have expected and perfectly calm setting everything up among a room full of people. Most people would have been frazzled at that point.
When I got the call about an accident, I immediately thought first, gosh, I hope everyone is ok. Second thought was, oh crap, what am I going to do about lunch. There is no way I would expect anyone to still deliver my catering order after just going through that! And yet, that’s exactly what your team did! So, I just needed to send you and your staff a big THANK YOU!
Kudos all around, keep up the great work and great food.
Also, a personal thanks to you for guiding me with my menu choices. The winter veggies were perfect and oh man that pumpkin bread tray was to die for! I usually pass on dessert, but not today, I even put the whipped cream on top!
Ok, I know, too many exclamations points already, I will stop!!!!!!!!!!!!! Have a great evening.
Mary, November 2014

“Thank you, again!! Everyone always raves about your food and service!! Happy Thanksgiving!!”
Katie :-), November 2014

“Ben, Was very happy with your staff, food selections and presentations. I would love to work with you and your team again!…..It was ALL YUM! By all accounts, they LOVED the turkey and the hors d’oeuvres…..Many thanks and happy holidays to you!”
Cher, November 2014

“Hey there Ben – I just wanted to thank you for helping me out at the last minute. Everything worked out well. That Hunters Chicken Stew was awesome! It was just the right thing for the weather we are dealing with these days. The pear salad also went over well…”
Sharon, November 2014

“Hi, guys! Thank you so much for the delightful lunch on Friday! Everyone loved the soups and rolls — so much that you have been added to our revolving list of places from which to order lunches for our Friday presentations!”
Tracy, November 2014

“Food was great. Your team did a really good job…. Thanks and look forward to working with you next year.”
Lee, November 2014

“Ben — Thanks for making our event a hit. Everyone loved your food and we have you in mind for any upcoming events. ”
Lisa, October 2014

“Just thought I’d let you know that lunch today was even better than yesterday! Thanks again for your always superb service and food!”
Susan, September 2014

Kudos to your lunch setup guy for our conference today – we had a building wide electric outage that lasted a good 20 minutes, and he set up lunch via the light of a flashlight and a cell phone that we held for him. Very calm and not fussed at all – we really appreciated his professionalism. Thanks so much – we love you guys!”
Karen, September 2014

As I am sure you have heard many times, all was as expected and many of my guests came to me and “gushed” about the food – especially the chicken and the pear salad, but I had some comments about each and every item – and NO complaints. Thank you!
Clay, September 2014

Just wanted to thank you for a most excellent breakfast catering again today. I am so glad we found your business on the internet. I love your professionalism – the way you label everything, etc. Everything is executed beautifully and deliciously! Thanks again.
Donna, August 2014

“The pulled pork with Carolina sauce were a hit and the walnut pear salad was so fresh and refreshing as a side. ….Even the left over sandwiches were good on Sunday… Comments were positive all around.”
Janice, July 2014

“Everything was PERFECT! Food was excellent! The staff did a great job setting up and the coffee deal really worked out well for us. Thank you! Take care and thanks for all you do to make my meetings a hit!”
Deanie, March 2014

“The food is great. The service is wonderful! They will work with your menu ideas and your budget. You will not be disappointed.”
Anita, February 2014

“Thank you for the wonderful lunch. Everyone enjoyed the meal! I tried to tell them I slaved all night but for some reason they did not believe me:)”
Carol, February 2014

“Everything was great. This was my first business transaction with you, and I am very pleased. Thank you.”
Juanita,  August 2013

“Thank you so much for the food yesterday. Your crab dip was a huge hit! Looking forward to patronizing your business soon!”
Dana, July 2013

“Thanks! Everything was delicious. We had a great time and everyone enjoyed the pulled pork and desserts at the Hagley Bike and Hike.”
Janice, July 2013

“The food was amazing, there were many compliments and business card requests. Thank you so much for helping to make my daughter and her new husband’s wedding brunch so special. I will definitely keep your company in mind for my future catering needs.”
Melissa, May 2013

“Please thank your staff for an incredible meal and for the great service.”
Richard, May 2013

“The only reason everyone’s looking forward to being at work on Saturday is the food!  Can’t wait!”
Allison, May 2013

“Your fellow who delivered today was most helpful. My crock-pot ended up not having its insert and was not useable for today’s soup as I had planned on (but hadn’t found out til he arrived with the hot soup). He offered to run to WaWa for me to see if he could pick up Sternos. He went over and above and I very much appreciated it. Just thought I should let you should know that he delivered the food and the customer service today.”
Regina, March 2013

“I am writing to express my sincere thanks regarding the office luncheon held on 12/21/12. I appreciated the assistance and suggestions you provided during the ordering process. The food was delivered hot and on time and the person who delivered it set up everything beautifully. The quality, price, and taste was exceptional….everyone raved about the food, especially the veggie lasagna. It was by far the best luncheon we’ve had! I look forward to contacting Food For Thought for future catering needs.”
Karlis, January 2013

Google Reviews

Visit our Google Page here

Mary Jo Sweeney
October 2016
What a delicious experience! Food for Thought was recommended by a friend who had used them in the past. I needed a caterer for 50+ people coming to my house for my husband’s retirement party. The food was fabulous!! One of my guests, who did not liked catered food, said this was the first time he enjoyed a meal by a caterer. I got rave reviews all night!! Ben was a delight to work with…very kind and patient. I will not hesitate to choose Food for Thought for my next catering need!

A. Russo
November 2015
Food For Thought catered my sister’s baby shower brunch. From my first contact with Ben to the day of the shower, I received outstanding customer service, honest and helpful support in menu and event planning, and amazing food. Best sausage and bread pudding ever. All the guests were impressed and kept asking us who made the food. Ben and his team took a huge weight off our shoulders by helping plan the menu, suggesting appropriate quantities and delivering hot, delicious food. To top it off, the prices are so reasonable. First event I’ve ever had catered and I won’t hesitate to use Food For Thought again. I would definitely recommend Food For Thought to anyone looking for catering services! You will not be disappointed!

Nicole Bunting
May 2015
I had never used or had Food For Thought before so I was a little worried it may not be as good as I wanted it to be. Wow! They surpassed my expectations. The food was amazing, they even made suggestions based on what would go best with what I wanted. Their BBQ chicken and pulled pork are amazing! The tortellini salad was also a big hit at the party! The guy who set it all up was on time and fast! Don’t hesitate to use them, they will definitely meet and pass your expectations! Can’t wait to use them again!

Maureen Loyola
April 2015
“We enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The food arrived on time, served hot, and by a friendly person (Erik). It was a perfect way to start our day. Looking forward to many more meals.”

Deb Salvati
April 2015
“We often use Food for Thought to cater meals for office meetings, leaving the menu choice up to Ben and he never disappoints! The crème brulee cheesecake was off the charts good and the young man who delivered our lunch waited 30 minutes for the room to be free so he could ensure the meal was set up properly. Combine great food with great service and you can’t go wrong!”

Dana Nestor
April 2015
“Delicious, high quality food. Awesome people.”

Adrienne Miller
January 2015
I could not have been any happier with our entire experience. Ben Porter was very quick to respond to my initial inquiry and help me with my selections. The delivery person was friendly and on time. Overall excellent customer service! Now to the food… not a bad thing to say. Simply amazing food! All of our guests raved about how delicious everything was. We had breakfast catered and the homemade sausage was so good! I wish I ordered more to have leftovers for us. It was a nice change of pace to to relax and enjoy a party with my family and friends and not feel the pressure of cooking and set-up. I also used them in the past for dinner and had an equally as wonderful experience.

Mary Debus
January 2015
I have been using Food for Thought Catering pretty much since they started business. I’ve used them for my annual Holiday party, my son & daughter-in-law’s Wedding Rehearsal dinner, Sunday Brunches, bridal and baby showers, birthday parties … just about any larger event that I have. With each year and each event, they surpass the last. Their food is always exceptional! The staff and service is top notch! They are always a pleasure to work with to ensure my event goes off stress free. I would never use anyone else for any event! VERY HIGHLY recommended!

Kelly O’Malley
October 2014
Ben and his team were amazing! They catered my company’s cocktail party and they were so great to work with throughout the entire process. We even asked to add additional items at the last minute and they were so accommodating! The food was fantastic – we got so many compliments from clients on how delicious everything was. And the cost was so reasonable. Will definitely be using them again! Thank you Ben & the entire Food For Thought Team!

Traci Dowling
July 2014
I planned a party for my husband and his twin brothers 50th birthday and decided to have it catered. I asked for references and had even thought about using a caterer I had used before years ago, but decided to look around on the internet and came upon Food for Thought. After much thought I decided to go with them and I am so happy I did! Ben was great to work with especially because I scheduled last minute AND then went away on vacation the week before! He was patient and also helped me design a menu that would work for my type of party and of course within my budget! I also took advantage of the setup and delivery charge as my party was rather small and didn’t need staff on site. Again, they did a great job! They set everything up so nicely, they were kind, respectful and courteous. Everyone thought the food was great and so did I! Their signature salad DID NOT DISAPPOINT! It was amazing! Thanks so much to Food for Thought for contributing to making the party great! Until next time!

Marshall Bonacquisti
June 2014
Food For Thought catered our daughters graduation party on 6/21. This was our first time having them cater an event for us. The food quality was superb and Ben was great to work with and offered his guidance on menu items that would fit for the occasion. Our guest loved the food especially the pulled Italian pork and the Pear and candied walnut salad. The staff was on site for the evening to assist with the food and beverages activities. They were courteous and professional and did a great job helping out wherever needed. We would not hesitate to have Food For Thought cater our next event or recommend them to our friends.

Larry Chou
April 2014
Ben and Dee catered my mother’s 70th birthday party. The whole process from ordering, payment to delivery and set-up was perfect. They anticipated and prepared everything we needed for the party. Our guests raved about the food–the pear salad, bacon mashed potatoes, and pumpkin pie received particular praise. At the last minute, they were also able to obtain professional chaffing dishes too, which upscaled the whole affair. We will definitely use Food for Thought again when we host future events.

John Helmick
March 2014
I can’t say enough good things about Ben Porter’s team at Food for Thought. We’ve worked with Food for Thought to cater a variety of functions – breakfasts, lunches and dinners – for groups as small as 20 and as large as 700 guests The feedback on the food is consistently and enthusiastically postive. Beyond the food, what keeps us coming back is the level of service we recieve. Lots of caterers serve good food; however, very few are as flexible, pleasant, and creative as Food for Thought.

Helen Senseny
January 2014
Ben Porter for food for thought has handled the account for our Stroke Conference for many years. His standard for customer service is very high. We appreciated how accommodating he was and he exceeded our expectations. The delivery staff was very friendly and eager to please to ensure we were satisfied.

Vicki Tait
December 2013
Our company has been using Food for Thought for years. Our first experience with them kept us returning for various office functions. Ben Porter and his group are friendly, courteous and efficient. They make planning a group function easy, whether it be an all day event or just one meal. Food for Thought will make recommendations, deliver on time, and set up all of the food. Best of all, the food is fresh and delicious. If you need someone to cater an event — my strong recommendation is that you use Food for Thought!

Louise Saruk
November 2013
Love working with the folks at Food For Thought. They just did another
event for us (a cosmetic services open-house at Delaware Valley
Dermatology Group) and they could not have done a better job. Making a
medical office a party venue poses certain challenges. In the end, I
didn’t have to think about a thing and it was all perfect. Even
planning was made simple. Ben and Dee walked me through all of the
decision-making. I was comfortable every step of the way. Great team,
great food, reasonable prices. I won’t call anyone else.

Lee Dresser
October 2013
Have catered our medical conference for 150-200 people for last two
years. They have been very professional and friendly to work with.
They came early to set up and were very well prepared and did an
excellent job at presenting the food and beverages. Food was quite
tasty and fresh, except a year ago the granola bars were quite hard.
No one is perfect! This year they melted in your mouth. Highly
recommend for your catering needs.

Joyce Carpenter
May 2013
Food for Thought is an excellent company providing extraordinary and
delicious food for all occasions. Everything is prepared and presented
to perfection and is different from all other catering menus. The Pear
Salad is a signature item and is amazing! I would highly recommend Ben
Porter and his associates for any and all catering needs.

 

Follow us:
Facebook Twitter